Published 14 January 2018


The 17 year old, who won the Italian Formula 4 title last year, took the lead from the start and wasn’t headed in the race for the historic trophy which dates back to 1951 and whose past winners include Bruce McLaren, Jim Clark and Stirling Moss.

“It was a hot race, I’m overwhelmed,” said an ecstatic Armstrong. Track temperatures reached 33 degrees for the 20 lap race.

“It’s great to do it in front of family and friends,” said Armstrong.

Armstrong got the better of pole position man Robert Shwartzman and was never headed. The 18 year old Russian’s initial launch was good, but then his car seemed to bog down and Armstrong got half a car length in front as they accelerated to the first corner side by side, where Armstrong emerged in front.

“I’m really happy for Matt Hamilton, who was my driving coach, as he won the trophy too,” said Armstrong.

Armstrong heads to Teretonga, Invercargill for the second round of the series with a 16 points lead over Shwartzman.

Richard Verschoor who won Saturday’s preliminary race is a distant third after failing to finish the Lady Wigram Trophy event.

Initially third, Verschoor battled past Shwartzman at the half way point, but neither were able to get close to Armstrong at any stage. A puncture scuppered Verschoor’s chances on lap 13.

The final place on the podium was taken by London’s James Pull, who held off a strong attack from Invercargill’s Brendon Leitch.

For a time the Englishman looked as if he might challenge Shwartzman, but dropped back after making a couple of mistakes. “Those cost me a lot of time and then I had to fight off Brendon.”

Earlier in the day, Armstrong had won the preliminary race from Verschoor and Shwartzman, while Pukekohe’s Taylor Cockerton had a good drive to fourth place.


Castrol Toyota Racing Series, Round 1, Ruapuna, Race 2, 15 laps.

1, M Armstrong (Christchurch).
2, R Verschoor (Netherlands);
3, R Shwartzman (Russia);
4, T Cockerton (Pukekohe);
5, C Ming (Guyana);
6, J-M Correa (United States);
7, C Milesi (France);
8, R Harker (Albany);
9, R Yardley (Christchurch)
10, C Novalak (United States).

Lady Wigram Trophy Race, 20 laps

1, Armstrong;
2, Shwartzman;
3, J Pull (England)
4, B Leitch (Invercargill)
5, C Milesi (France);
6, C Novalak (England);
7, C Das (United States);
8, J-M Correa (United States);
9; R Yardley (Christchurch);
10; R Harker (Albeny)


1, Armstrong, 210;
2, Shwartzman, 194;
3, Verschoor, 142;
4, Pull, 139;
5, Novalak, 132;
6, Milesi, 127;
7, Cockerton, 125;
8, Ming, 119;
9, Correa, 112;
10, Harker, 108.


For further information please contact:

John Coker, Castrol Toyota Racing Series Public Relations,
Phone (021) 537 250 or email

Visit us:

Follow us:

Facebook /ToyotaRacingNZ

Twitter @ToyotaRacingNZ

YouTube /ToyotaRacingSeries



Published 11 February 2018

Fortune favours the brave - Verschoor's reward: the Grand Prix win

Read more

Verschoor 300x170 BJP-7778 VERSCHOOR CLOSES THE GAP

Published 10 February 2018

Two weeks ago, Richard Verschoor was sure he had no chance at the 2018 Castrol Toyota Racing Series. Victory in today's race puts him well in contention 

Read more


Published 9 February 2018

The Victory team's Mo Larsen is a great advertisement for being as young as you feel.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand