Randle delivers on Toyota Racing Series promise at Hampton Downs

Published 29 January 2017

Thomas Randle has delivered on the promise he has been showing for the last two weekends of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series when he won the New Zealand Motor Cup at Hampton Downs this afternoon.

In doing so he set a little bit of history, becoming the first Australian in 42 years to win the most prestigious trophy in New Zealand motor racing.

The last successful driver from across the Tasman was Warwick Brown, who won the New Zealand Grand Prix at Pukekohe in 1975. The most famous Australian name on the solid silver trophy is former triple World Champion, Sir Jack Brabham, who won it three times at Ardmore in 1958, ’60 and ’61.

“It’s unreal. I’ve dreamed about this,” said Randle. “And it’s a relief. I’ve been fast for the last two weekends.”

Randle lost a race win at Teretonga last weekend when he was relegated for jumping the start and then spun away the lead in the main race.

He had pole position for Saturday’s preliminary race at Hampton Downs, but fell foul of the slippery track conditions on the opening lap and had to settle for third.

“It’s awesome. The Victory Team has given me a great car. Now we’ll have to see what we can do at Taupo.”

Randle had to cope with the pressure of two safety car periods, the second when series leader Richard Verschoor clipped the back of Marcus Armstrong’s car. The Christchurch driver was forced out with damaged rear suspension, while the Dutch teenager restarted 18th from the pit lane after changing a damaged front wing.

He fought his way back to 12th place, but was penalized 30 seconds for the collision with Armstrong, which put him back in 16th place. Verschoor still leads the series, although Randle’s victory means the margin has been reduced from 80 to 23 points.

Austrian Ferdinand Habsburg turned in his best drive of the series to finish second after starting seventh, while Jehan Daruvala (India) claimed third after Pedro Piquet had a brief off track excursion and lost two places on the last lap.

The best Kiwi was Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe) who finished seventh after starting tenth, while Brendon Leitch (Invercargill) had a weekend to forget from 13th on the grid, tangling with American Kory Enders and being forced to change the front wing to finish 18th.



 Castrol Toyota Racing Series, Round 3, Hampton Downs, North Waikato.

 NZ Motor Cup, 20 laps:


1, Thomas Randle (Australia);

2, Ferdinand Habsburg (Austria);

3, Jehan Daruvala (India);

4, Kami Laliberte (Canada);

5, Pedro Piquet (Brazil);

6, Luis Leeds (Australia);

7, Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe);

8, Harry Hayek (Australia);

9, Christian Hahn (Brazil)

10, Enaam Ahmed (England)

18, Brendon Leitch (Invercargill)

DNF, Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch)


 Preliminary race, 15 laps:


1, Enaam Ahmed;

2, Richard Verschoor (Netherlands);

3, Pedro Piquet;

4, Marcus Armstrong;

5, Ameya Vaidyanathan (India);

6, Kami Laliberte;

7, Thomas Randle;

8, Jehan Daruvala;

9, Taylor Cockerton;

10, Ferdinand Habsburg.


Series points.-

1, Verschoor, 537;

2, Randle, 514;

3, Piquet, 483;

4, Daruvala, 405;

5, Armstrong, 402;

6, Ahmed, 376;

7, Cockerton, 371;

8, Laliberte, 360;

9, Habsburg, 336;

10, Leitch, 290.


Published 20 January 2019

Following consultation with all team owners and drivers, Toyota Racing New Zealand have today (Sunday) made the decision to cancel all remaining qualifying and racing for the Castrol Toyota Racing Series after gale force winds made circuit conditions unsafe for the high speed formula TRS cars at Teretonga Park in Invercargill.

Read more

Marcus (300 x 170) Armstrong wins a thriller

Published 19 January 2019

Marcus Armstrong took his first win in the 2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series with a thrilling victory over title rival and countryman Liam Lawson after a dramatic first race at Teretonga Park in Invercargill.

Read more

Teretonga qualifying Lawson (300 x 197) Lawson shines again in the wet

Published 19 January 2019

Home drivers continued to shine in wet qualifying conditions at the second round of the 2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series at Teretonga Park in Invercargill today, with series leader Liam Lawson securing pole position from countryman and series rival Marcus Armstrong by a scant one tenth of a second.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand