Ilott steps under lap record for TRS at Taupo

Published 6 February 2015

British driver Callum Ilott topped the timesheets in three test sessions for Toyota Racing Series today at Taupo. In blustery conditions that caught out several drivers he posted a 1:23.250 this afternoon. The race lap record for TRS at Taupo is 1:24.444, set by Jordan King in 2012.

Ilott, 16, is the current European KF-class karting champion, won the WSK KF class super masters title, and was third in KF class at the WSK Champions Cup. He has been karting since 2008 and is making his first foray into ‘wings and slicks’ single-seater racing at TRS 2015 with ETEC Motorsport.

Behind him, more than half the field went under the lap record in the third session, with Brandon Maisano second quickest on 1:23.505 and Kiwi James Munro third on 1:23.667. Fourth fastest – and just 1/1000 of a second behind on 1:23.668 – was American Santino Ferrucci. Fifth fastest was NZ Motor Cup winner Sam MacLeod. MacLeod, has confirmed a drive in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship – the most fiercely competitive in the world - with the Motopark team. Five of the drivers so far announced or with announcements to be confirmed are current or recent TRS drivers.

The first session of the day was topped by a driver making his TRS debut: Sergio Sette Camara, 16, takes over the number 7 car previously used by Armenian John Simonyan and will contest the Taupo and Manfeild rounds, competing in seven races of the total 16.

A recent graduate to open-wheelers, Camara’s karting results include winning the IAME International Final in the X30 Junior class in 2012 and second in the Graduate class at the Copa Brasil de Kart in 2013. In 2014 he has been racing Formula 3 in Brazil (seventh overall) and had a limited campaign in the FIA European Formula 3 Championship. Camara posted a 1:24.319.

The second session saw Russian GP2 driver Artem Markelov go quickest with a 1:24.219. Arjun Maini crashed out of the second session, hitting the tyre wall on the start-finish straight. He was unhurt but the damage to the car forced him to sit out the final session.

The TRS cars return to the track at Ricoh Motorsport Park tomorrow for qualifying session at 10.30 am NZDST; races are at 1.30 pm and 3.30 pm.



Published 11 February 2018

Fortune favours the brave - Verschoor's reward: the Grand Prix win

Read more

Verschoor 300x170 BJP-7778 VERSCHOOR CLOSES THE GAP

Published 10 February 2018

Two weeks ago, Richard Verschoor was sure he had no chance at the 2018 Castrol Toyota Racing Series. Victory in today's race puts him well in contention 

Read more


Published 9 February 2018

The Victory team's Mo Larsen is a great advertisement for being as young as you feel.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand