Daruvala’s team tactics win Lady Wigram Trophy Race

Published 18 January 2016

Indian driver Jehan Daruvala was a bemused winner of the Lady Wigram Trophy race, the main event of the first round of the Toyota Racing Series at Ruapuna this afternoon.

“The team was telling me to box (come into the pits),” said Daruvala after taking the race which finished behind the safety car after cars had stopped in dangerous places after spinning off the track.

“I asked if they were sure and they said yes. It was definitely the right call to change to wet tyres when we did.”

The whole field had started on slick tyres despite the damp conditions which became more treacherous as drizzle continued to fall.

After starting 17th on the grid and racing in the middle of the field, Daruvala’s team elected to bring him into the pits to change tyres in the expectation there would be further incidents on the increasingly greasy track.

It was the right call as the safety car was called out a second and third time.

On the third restart Daruvala had only one other car on wet tyres in front of him, Pedro Piquet, who became involved in an incident on the track and spun off.

The first eight led by the morning race Lando Norris (England) were still on slick tyres and became sitting ducks in the conditions.

Daruvala with more grip in the conditions was able to pass Norris and Artem Markelov (Russia) to take the lead just two laps before another incident brought the safety car out again and the race was stopped.

“I’ve got to thank the team a lot,” said Daruvala. “It’s my first victory in cars.”

Like Saturday’s winner Ferdinand Habsburg who started 16th and finished second this afternoon after an early stop for wet tyres, Daruvala’s last win came in karts in 2014.

“Those restarts were tricky,” said Daruvala. “I couldn’t see much in all the spray.”

He goes to the second round at Teretonga, Invercargill next weekend, fifth on the points table, which is led by Norris, from Habsburg and Markelov.
Simon Evans and Andre Heimgartner, both in Commodores, shared wins in the supporting V8 races, while Ash Blewett extended his lead in the Toyota Finance 86 series with two more wins.

Add results.-

Toyota Racing Series

Lady Wigram Trophy Race, 17 laps:
1, J Daruvala (India);
2, F Habsburg (Austria);
3, A Markelov (Russia);
4, L Norris (England);
5, G Zhou (China);
6, B Leitch (Invercargill);
7, D DeFrancesco (Canada);
8, K Laliberte (Canada);
9, B Baptista (Brazil);
10, N Dapero (Argentina)

Toyota Racing Series Preliminary race, 15 laps:
1, L Norris;
2, P Piquet (Brazil);
3, G Zhou;
4, A Markelov;
5, W Owen (USA);
6, A Ptak (Poland);
7, T Buret (France);
8, F Habsburg;
9, B Baptista;
10, B Leitch.
12, D Cockerton (Pukekohe).

Toyota Racing Series Points – after three of 15 races:

1 Ferdinand Habsburg 184
2 Artem Markelov 181
3 Lando Norris [R] 171
4 Guanyu Zhou [R] 163
5 Jehan Daruvala 140
6 Brendon Leitch 130
7 Pedro Piquet 109
8 Antoni Ptak 103
9 Devlin DeFrancesco [R] 102
10 Timothe Buret 100
11 Taylor Cockerton [R] 96
12 James Munro 78
13 Bruno Baptista 78
14 Kami Laliberte [R] 66
15 Nicolas Dapero 61
16 William Owen 58
17 Rodrigo Baptista 46
18 Julian Hanses [R] 44
19 Theo Bean [R] 38

The full TRS schedule is.-

January 23/24 Teretonga, Invercargill
January 30/31 Hampton Downs, North Waikato
February 6/7 Taupo
February 13/14 New Zealand Grand Prix, Manfeild, Manawatu

Das a likely challenger in Castrol Toyota Racing Series (300 x 170) Das a likely challenger in Castrol Toyota Racing Series

Published 16 November 2018

Eighteen year old Baltimore racer Cameron Das has confirmed he is returning for a second shot at the Castrol Toyota Racing Series and the young US driver could be a major factor with both circuit and car knowledge likely to benefit his championship challenge.

Read more

Young US racer Locke’s in New Zealand Campaign (300 x 170) Young US racer Locke’s in New Zealand Campaign

Published 14 November 2018

American Formula 3 and Formula 4 racer Parker Locke is the latest driver to be confirmed for the 2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand.

Read more

Artem Petrov Announcement (300 x 170) Petrov heads to New Zealand to begin 2019

Published 7 November 2018

Saint Petersburg racer Artem Petrov is the latest up and coming single seater racer to confirm his entry for the 2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand and the eighteen year old is aiming for a successful campaign in the championship to launch a busy year.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand