Armstrong wins Denny Hulme Trophy at Taupo

Published 7 February 2017

Marcus Armstrong learnt from his mistake on Saturday afternoon to comfortably win the Denny Hulme Trophy at the fourth round of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo, on Sunday afternoon.

Getting the best start from the outside of the front row of the grid, the Christchurch teenager got to the first corner ahead of pole sitter Jehan Daruvala (India) and was never headed.

“I led yesterday and then made a mistake,” said Armstrong. “At least I learned from that and proved I could win from the front.”

Daruvala initially let Armstrong establish a two second lead, but then fought back and was narrowing the advantage. “I was taking a lot of risks hunting him down,” said Daruvala. But then he had one “moment” too many and ended up off the track.

“I was lucky not to get beached on the scoria,” said Daruvala. “After that the fight was over.”

Armstrong is now fourth in the championship, one point ahead of Daruvala and having gained more points than anybody else over the three races at Taupo is still just focused on winning races.

Daruvala was able to hold onto second as third placed Ferdinand Habsburg had drifted back, holding up a train of six cars. The Austrian drove a great defensive race to hold the position from championship leader Thomas Randle.

Habsburg wasn’t as fast and had the Australian alongside him on numerous occasions, but he held his nerve and the inside line into the corners to stay in front.

“When I saw him right in my mirrors I realized it was going to be a long race,” said Habsburg. “I just focused on my exit speed from the corners to try and hold him off. He gave me a really hard time.”

Randle now has a 27 points lead over Verschoor who was fighting a similar rear guard action against yesterday’s winner Brendon Leitch, who also had the obviously faster car.

The Invercargill driver was alongside and even in the dirt in the infield “S” corners, but could not press home his advantage. They finished seventh and eighth.

Leitch has moved up to seventh in the series, with Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe) who had to replace a front wing in the morning’s preliminary race having his best race of the weekend after starting ninth and finishing sixth.

Almost going under the radar in the championship battle has been Pedro Piquet. The Brazilian won the morning’s 15 lap event from Randle and Daruvala and is now only four points behind Verschoor.

The final three races will be held next weekend at the Chris Amon circuit, Manfeild, culminating in the New Zealand Grand Prix.


Castrol Toyota Racing Series, Round 4, 15 laps, Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo

1, Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch);
2, Jehan Daruvala (India);
3, Ferdinand Habsburg (Austria);
4, Thomas Randle (Australia);
5, Pedro Piquet (Brazil);
6, Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe);
7, Richard Verschoor (Netherlands);
8, Brendon Leitch (Invercargill);
9, Kami Laliberte (Canada);
10, Harry Hayek (Australia).

Series points.-

1, Randle, 692;
2, Verschoor, 665;
3, Piquet, 661;
4, Armstrong, 598;
5, Daruvala, 597;
6, Enaam Ahmed (England), 496;
7, Leitch, 463;
8, Cockerton, 450;
9, Laliberte, 443;
10, Habsburg, 422.

Extra Friday race story (300 x 170) Fourth race at Hampton Downs for Castrol Toyota Racing Series

Published 23 January 2019

The third round of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series this coming weekend at Hampton Downs will feature an additional race which will take place at 4.25pm local NZ time on Friday January 25th.

Read more


Published 20 January 2019

Following consultation with all team owners and drivers, Toyota Racing New Zealand have today (Sunday) made the decision to cancel all remaining qualifying and racing for the Castrol Toyota Racing Series after gale force winds made circuit conditions unsafe for the high speed formula TRS cars at Teretonga Park in Invercargill.

Read more

Marcus (300 x 170) Armstrong wins a thriller

Published 19 January 2019

Marcus Armstrong took his first win in the 2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series with a thrilling victory over title rival and countryman Liam Lawson after a dramatic first race at Teretonga Park in Invercargill.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand