Toyota Finance 86 Championship winner to race at Bathurst

Published 6 October 2015

The stakes have been raised with a race at the Bathurst 1000 up for grabs for this season’s Toyota Finance 86 Championship winner.  An incredible opportunity for the series winner to get exposure at Australia’s largest motorsport event with track time preceding the V8 Supercars race.

The overall winner from the New Zealand six round sports car series, which runs from November to March, will win the chance to compete in the Toyota 86 sprint races at the iconic Bathurst event in 2016.

“I haven’t heard of a New Zealand race series that has ever offered this opportunity,” said Steve Boyce, Toyota New Zealand’s Motorsport Manager. 

“Being a distributor-backed series it’s allowed us to lock this in with Toyota Australia, and it also provides a taste of global racing opportunities that exist for New Zealand racing talent.”

“It’s every budding motor racing driver’s dream to race at Bathurst. Now that dream will become reality next year.”

The successful driver will be racing an 86 supplied by Toyota Australia with similar specification to the vehicles used in the New Zealand Championship.  This opportunity has been made possible through Toyota Australia debuting their Pro-Am 86 series this year and providing one of their series cars to the New Zealand 86 series champion.  

“They will be racing in front of around 200,000 people over the weekend,” said Mr Boyce. “All the top Australian teams will be present and watching the potential stars of the future and the TV exposure is also huge.”

The successful driver will also race alongside Australia’s top 86 drivers, providing invaluable race experience to further their race career.

This summer’s Toyota Finance 86 Championship starts at Pukekohe from November 6-8 as one of the supporting categories to New Zealand’s round of the V8 Supercar Series, another high profile event for competitors.

The Toyota Finance 86 Championship continues at Hampton Downs on November 28-29 and then supports the Toyota single seater racing series at Ruapuna on January 16-17, Teretonga on January 23-24 and the New Zealand Grand Prix at Manfeild on February 13-14. The final round is at Taupo Motorsport Park on 26-27 March 2016. All six rounds will be televised on TV3’s CRC Motorsport programme.

Record-field-expected-for-Toyota-86-Championship-300x170 Record field expected for Toyota 86 Championship

Published 12 July 2018

A record field, featuring the cream of the country’s young up and coming motor racing talent is expected to contest this summer’s Toyota 86 Championship.

Read more


Published 3 May 2018

Arran Crighton and Callum Hedge are the 2018-2019 CareVets Toyota 86 Scholarship winners and will race for the team over the coming six round championship which starts at November’s Virgin Australia Supercar Championship event at Pukekohe.

Read more

CAREVETS-TOYOTA-86-SCHOLARSHIP-WILL-TEST-THE-BEST-ON-MONDAY_ARTICLE_300x170 Carevets Toyota 86 Scholarship to test the best at Hampton Downs

Published 27 April 2018

A record number of 15 rising race drivers will do battle for two prized seats in the 2018-2019 Toyota 86 Championship on Monday.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand