Gilchrist again as Orr-West impresses

christina supercars 22 (940 x 450)

Another impressive run saw Brock Gilchrist top the times for the second session in a row at Pukekohe Park today.

Gilchrist topped the timesheets at the non-championship event at the final Pukekohe Supercars meeting in the first session before clocking the best time again in what was a slightly slower session.

Hot on his heels in P2 was series returnee and former champion Callum Hedge. Surprise of the session was the category's only female racer this weekend Christina Orr-West (pictured above in the Dayle ITM Toyota 86 this morning).

The evergreen dairy farmer and racer from Edgecumbe turned heads with the third fastest lap time just over two tenths of a second from Gilchrist.

Another impressive performance came from Tayler Bryant, revelling in being back in the category after a year on the side-lines. What he has learned off track in that time certainly looked like it had been of benefit as he scorched to the fourth fastest time of the session. Zac Stichbury rounded out the top five.

Justin Allen was next up, ahead of Clay Osborne and another going well - Mark Mallard. Mallard is not in his regular car this weekend, that’s in the hands of former champion Peter Vodanovich. Mallard's new steed certainly looks like it suits him however, as he clocked eighth fastest time, one place ahead of Vodanovich. Dion Pitt rounded out the top ten for the second time.

A tight turnaround for teams means that they'll be working hard until qualifying starts just after 2pm.


Toyota 86 - Supercars event - Practice 2

  1. Brock Gilchrist
  2. Callum Hedge
  3. Christina Orr-West
  4. Tayler Bryant
  5. Zac Stichbury
  6. Justin Allen
  7. Clay Osborne
  8. Mark Mallard
  9. Peter Vodanovich
  10. Dion Pitt
  11. Connor Adam
  12. Fynn Osborne
  13. John Penny
  14. Tom Bewley
  15. Rylan Gray
  16. Noel Simpson
  17. Will Morton
  18. Harry Townsend
  19. Sam Cotterill
  20. Tim Leach