New Entries boost numbers at Toyota 86 Championship Finale

Matt Griffin 940

Three new drivers – one an international - have signed up for the final round of the 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship, boosting the final round grid to 15 and the whole-series stats to a record 22 entries.

The international entry is Broc Feeney (15) from Australia, who is stepping up from a karting career aiming to race the Australian 86 series and is keen to get some ‘seat time’ in the New Zealand Championship as well. Australian Junior Karting Champion Feeney will drive the No. 93 Neil Allport Motorsport-prepared Toyota 86 for the final round of the Kiwi Series, in what will be his first race out of karts.

“The opportunity is a unique one – I didn’t expect to be making my car racing debut in New Zealand,” said Feeney.

Kiwi Calum Hedge has stepped up from Formula F1600 to make his Toyota 86 Championship debut. Hedge (14) is one to watch, having become the youngest ever New Zealand Formula F1600 Champion at Manfeild a month ago.

Another driver making his 86 Championship debut this weekend is Matt Griffin, 25, of Pukekohe. Griffin has extensive single-make racing experience and has twice won the BMW E30 Series. He is also an accomplished endurance racer with the North Island title to his name.

Adding further to the spectacle are a number of drivers returning to the Championship.

Auckland’s Jacob Smith (18) returned at the previous round after a long recovery from back surgery.

Tom Alexander has sorted the issues that slowed him mid-Championship and is back, aiming to score some race wins.

Aucklander Ben MacDonald is also back, having run at the opening round this year.

The final race weekend of the 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship starts on Friday with practice sessions at 9:20 am; 12:40 pm and 3:30 pm. Qualifying on Saturday morning takes the form of two back to back sessions starting at 10:40 am, while the first race is at 3:48 pm (10 laps).

The final two races of the Championship take place on Sunday at 10:40 am (10 laps, partial reverse grid) and 3:18 pm (15 laps)


Round six, 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship

Car number Name From
3 Michael Scott Te Puke
4 Peter Vodanovich Auckland
5 Matt Griffin Pukekohe
7 Sam Wright Clevedon
9 Connor Adam Auckland
11 Tom Alexander Bombay
17 Jack Milligan Christchurch
18 Bramwell King Auckland
21 Calum Hedge Auckland
23 Jordan Baldwin Auckland
27 Jacob Smith Auckland
35 Ben MacDonald Auckland
53 Jaden Ransley Christchurch
86 Brock Gilchrist Auckland
93 Broc Feeney Neil Allport Motorsport AUST