About the Toyota 86 Championship

Toyota’s acclaimed 86 sports coupe returns for a ninth championship season after making its debut on New Zealand’s race tracks in 2013 using the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing NZ developed version designed for racing, the TR 86.

New Zealand's Leading One-make Racing Series

The Toyota 86 Championship, like the Castrol Toyota Racing Series, plays a major role in helping rising race drivers hone their skills, and for the close grids of TR 86 competitors it brings the added bonus of dedicated media coverage and television, helping to attract sponsors at driver and team level.


Conceived as a stepping stone to greater things, the Toyota 86 Championship is an intensely competitive premier-level championship that attracts rising racers and some of the highest profile names in New Zealand motorsport.


The Toyota 86 Championship takes drivers to some of the most spectacular race circuits in New Zealand, sharing the billing with SuperCars, New Zealand’s premier motor racing championship the Castrol Toyota Racing Series and includes the New Zealand Grand Prix weekend.


Going into its ninth year, the championship welcomes a fresh draft of talented racers expected to make the racing at each of the six rounds a close-fought battle.

The TR 86

The race-ready TR 86 takes driving where few sports cars dare to go - the track.

Lease Package

Affordable car lease options create a pathway for aspiring Toyota 86 Championship racers

A purpose-built racing car

Cars are available to lease for drivers, either to those seeking experience in a saloon based category or as a stepping stone to the Castrol Toyota Racing Series single-seaters. Cars can be leased on a dry hire basis, or a fully managed package through a team.

“Our aim has always been to offer a race series that challenges drivers and helps them develop their skills”, Toyota 86 Championship Category Manager Geoff S says.

“We know there are many drivers – especially young drivers – who would like the chance to try their hand in the championship. So far we have seen people either buy cars outright or race with the support of a team and a car owner. This initiative adds a further way to get on the grid”.

Trophy Cabinet

Drivers will compete for the coveted Toyota 86 Championship Trophy, and the Toyota 86 Rookie of the Year Trophy.

At the Annual MotorSport New Zealand Awards Function the overall winner (highest overall points scorer from all Rounds of the Championship) will be awarded the Toyota 86 Championship Trophy.

Note: The Toyota 86 Championship Trophy will be presented first for promotional purposes at the Toyota 86 Awards Function which takes place after the final Round of the Championship.

The title of 86 Rookie of the Year will be awarded to the driver with highest overall points.

Note: A criteria applies in order to qualify as a rookie.

Toyota Racing New Zealand

The team behind the teams