Published 9 March 2018

Three new drivers – one an international - have signed up for the final round of the 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship, boosting the final round grid to 15 and the whole-series stats to a record 22 entries.

The international entry is Broc Feeney (15) from Australia, who is stepping up from a karting career aiming to race the Australian 86 series and is keen to get some ‘seat time’ in the New Zealand Championship as well. Australian Junior Karting Champion Feeney will drive the No. 93 Neil Allport Motorsport-prepared Toyota 86 for the final round of the Kiwi Series, in what will be his first race out of karts.

“The opportunity is a unique one – I didn’t expect to be making my car racing debut in New Zealand,” said Feeney.

Kiwi Calum Hedge has stepped up from Formula F1600 to make his Toyota 86 Championship debut. Hedge (14) is one to watch, having become the youngest ever New Zealand Formula F1600 Champion at Manfeild a month ago.

Another driver making his 86 Championship debut this weekend is Matt Griffin, 25, of Pukekohe. Griffin has extensive single-make racing experience and has twice won the BMW E30 Series. He is also an accomplished endurance racer with the North Island title to his name.

Adding further to the spectacle are a number of drivers returning to the Championship.

Auckland’s Jacob Smith (18) returned at the previous round after a long recovery from back surgery.

Tom Alexander has sorted the issues that slowed him mid-Championship and is back, aiming to score some race wins.

Aucklander Ben MacDonald is also back, having run at the opening round this year.

The final race weekend of the 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship starts on Friday with practice sessions at 9:20 am; 12:40 pm and 3:30 pm. Qualifying on Saturday morning takes the form of two back to back sessions starting at 10:40 am, while the first race is at 3:48 pm (10 laps).

The final two races of the Championship take place on Sunday at 10:40 am (10 laps, partial reverse grid) and 3:18 pm (15 laps)


Round six, 2017-2018 Toyota 86 Championship

Car number Name From
3 Michael Scott Te Puke
4 Peter Vodanovich Auckland
5 Matt Griffin Pukekohe
7 Sam Wright Clevedon
9 Connor Adam Auckland
11 Tom Alexander Bombay
17 Jack Milligan Christchurch
18 Bramwell King Auckland
21 Calum Hedge Auckland
23 Jordan Baldwin Auckland
27 Jacob Smith Auckland
35 Ben MacDonald Auckland
53 Jaden Ransley Christchurch
86 Brock Gilchrist Auckland
93 Broc Feeney Neil Allport Motorsport AUST

Top-ten-the-goal-for-karting-sensation-Cranston_ARTICLE_300x170 Top ten the goal for karting sensation Cranston

Published 21 September 2018

Multiple karting champion Jacob Cranston is the latest young gun to commit to the 2018-2019 Toyota 86 Championship and the talented racer and soccer player has one goal in mind for the coming season - to get inside the top ten on a regular basis in his first season racing cars.

Read more

Prize-pool-offers-big-step-towards-Supercars-dream-for-young-NZ-drivers_ARTICLE_300x170 Prize pool offers big step towards Supercars dream for young NZ drivers

Published 19 September 2018

A career in Supercars could be one step closer for two young Kiwi racers after Toyota Racing New Zealand confirmed its best ever prize pool for the forthcoming Toyota 86 Championship.

Read more

Ngatoa-targeting-title-challenge-as-career-momentum-builds_ARTICLE_300x170 Ngatoa targeting title challenge as career momentum builds

Published 14 September 2018

Multiple karting champion and championship runner-up in Formula First Kaleb Ngatoa is the latest young gun to sign up for the 2018-2019 Toyota 86 Championship, and the Rangitikei College 17 year old has put together a formidable team for an attack on the championship in his first season.

Read more

Contact Toyota Racing

Follow us

TRS logo Social Media
Toyota Racing New Zealand
Toyota New Zealand
Toyota 86 New Zealand